Tags

,

If you look at all of the East Coast Capital cities, hands down, Melbourne has the best fabric shopping.  

So when a special sewing friend celebrated a significant birthday it only seemed fitting that we fly to Melbourne for the day to shop for fabric.

We had a full day planned; attacking the shops in the city first before heading to the northern suburbs.  However our day was unexpectedly cut short with fog delays on arrival.  We arrived in the city an hour later than originally planned.  The delays also caught up with us at the end of the day too.  That is a whole other story and only added to our adventure!

Tessuti fabrics was at the top of the list but we warmed up by visiting Button Mania, L’uccello and Kimono House first.

From button mania I matched a sandy coloured linen with some tortoise shell buttons for an Alder shirtdress.

And at L’uccello I couldn’t go past this set of liberty buttons.  I can see them tarting up a simple blue or white button down shirt.  Their handmade sewing boxes are just spectacular.

At Tessuti I had my Jaywalk gift voucher burning a hole in my pocket.  After an initial browse we were quickly overwhelmed by choice and possibilites.  We tried to settle ourselves and went to the pattern sample rack for inspiration.  It allowed us to regroup and focus.

I bought some stripes for Brigette, some devine Chocolate yarn dyed linen for Eva and a slub silver/brown knit for a Harper cardigan that coordinates with the two other fabrics. Also when I was in Singapore I got some teal linen that would be perfect for Pia too.

We visited morris and sons briefly to pick up a hard to find orphan ball of noro silk garden sock for a knitting project I am currently working on.

We lunched in a lane way and finished our city adventure at Clegs.

From there we headed to GJ’s discount fabrics in Brunswick East.  I found some great cheap fabric to make muslins for my new Tessuti projects.

Rathdownie Fabrics had already closed for the day so we rushed back to the city to the Allanah Hill outlet.  We had mere minutes to shop before we had to head back to the airport.  I would have loved to have been able to spend some more time there as I am sure there were treasures to be found with a little digging.  

i did find this red fabric that has a great contrast on the other side.  I am sure it will make a wonderful dress one day.

 

I had such a fantastic day with my dear friend and I am pretty sure that she enjoyed it as much as I did.  And it wasn’t just about the fabric shopping.  It was mostly about spending the day together. I even loved the hours we spend on the plane just sitting, knitting and chatting.  We only live 20 minutes from each other but our busy lives too often get in the way of an extended catch up.  It was a great adventure that I will never forget.     

 

