Tags

, , , ,

New Zealander Jennifer Lauren, is a new designer to the scene and she has just released her third pattern the Dalloway dress and skirt.  The dress is just as cute as the skirt and worth having a look at.

The other two patterns are the already extremely popular, the afternoon blouse and bronte shirt.

It has been remiss of me to have not added her to my list of designers until now.

As you can see her patterns are unique everyday items with a vintage flair.

When I made my PJs I wanted a matching shirt.  Bronte was the first pattern that I thought of.  I liked the idea of the high neckline, keeping my chest and back warm.

The fabric I chose was a lightweight knit that I had in my stash. I just squeezed a long sleeve version from 1.5m of fabric. I received the piece of red knit years ago from style arc when I first joined with pattern club.

I cut the size 12 based on my bust measurements.

I love the pattern.  The neckline bindings are designed well and the pattern pieces fit perfectly together.  The instructions are clear, comprehensive and logical. It was a little fiddly getting the shoulder placement right but the results are worth the extra effort.  Marking the top of the shoulder may have made the task a little easier fitting in the sleeves.

I haven’t sewn the overlap down.

But unfortunately it is a little too tight and the thin fabric highlights every curve and roll of my beautiful body.

I think the fabric is a cotton bamboo knit and even though the fit is tight this shirt is not warm at all!  It will however be a great layering piece.  I love it under my chambray shirt on those colder days.

I will make this again in a heavier (warmer) knit fabric.  Something with a bit of weight.

I am looking forward to seeing what Jennifer brings out next!

 

