Tags

, , , ,

June was a huge month for The Monthly Stitch.  Indie pattern Month was a success thanks to the great organisation skills and efforts of the Mel, Kat and Juliet.  This year I donated a $50 Stitch 56 gift voucher as a prize for the Ultimate Fan Girl Challenge.  My winner was Sandra with her absolutely fabulous outfit using Papercut patterns.

Moving on to this months the theme – Monosewn – shunning colour and using black and white only.

I wasn’t feeling particular inspired.  

I made a black a white cowl shirt about 18 months ago and it has never been worn. I love the print, but this shirt does nothing for me.   It has side slits at the hips and could do with some “pear body” shaping.  I think it just looks … bleh.  And with the big bold line across my tummy and a big X across my hips – um no. 

So my challenge for this month was to make this monochrome shirt wearable.  As a bonus I wanted to create a nice business like outfit for my upcoming work trip.  The solution is a high waist pencil skirt to tuck in the bits I don’t like and to give it some shape.

Doesn’t that look better.  Here are some more photos with my hands out of the way.

i chose the burda pattern (02/2012 #120) that I mentioned in my pencil skirt post.  Because it had a centre back zip it would make fitting easier by being able to adjust the side seams.

Even though I knew that Burdastyle patterns don’t include seam allowances, I forgot to add them when cutting my first muslin.  My second muslin fit great and the only modification I made was to taper the side seams from the thigh to the knee making this straight skirt more pencil like.

It should have been a really simple make but there were a few bumps along the way.  It didn’t start well by putting the zip in the bottom waking slit.  

Sewing an invisible zip twice kinda takes the “invisible” out of it.  I just couldn’t get it quite right the second time.  But its black and not very noticeable unless you are really looking.

Once I stopped fussing with the zip I sewed the waist band on the wrong side.  Really just silly mistakes from rushing and not taking the time to think about what I was doing.

The photo below is not my favourite.  It shows a few curves that any woman doesn’t like to point out but I will mention them anyway. There are other distractions in the photo.  

The hip darts create a nice curve across the tummy.  I initially ironed them using a tailors ham and created a little too much room and had to squash them flat.  The back darks are nice and long creating a long and gentle curve.  i would recommend this pattern for those two reasons.  It sits very nicely across my tummy and bum without stretching the fabric.

I love this skirt.  It fits so well and in my mind, is very flattering. it is also very comfortable to wear and with the back slit, easy to walk in.

This whole skirt I managed to make from stash.  The pattern was from a magazine I had and the fabric was a find at the first Brisbane spoolettes meetup from Sarah.

Making this skirt has created an outfit fit for business wear.  It has also given me something to wear my previously unbearable shirt with!

 

 

