Tags

,

I have this inexplicable need to make a pencil skirt.  Well, I may be motivated by the fact that I am going to Singapore in a couple of weeks for work and I need a black skirt.  But why I HAVE to make a pencil skirt beyond me.

There have been a few new pencil skirt patterns released recently.  

Blueginger Doll have the betsy pencil skirt which has a few different style variations.  I like the high waisted version with the kick pleat.  

Iconic patterns also released a wiggle skirt this month.  It is designed for a heavier knit and has a few cute design features such as back pocket flaps and belt loops.  This skirt also has an invisible zip clousre at the centre back.

Colette’s Mabel would be a good choice for a stable knit too.  Version 3 is a knee length pencil skirt with seam details and a kick pleat.

I have made Style arc’s Fay skirt a few times.  It is a very simple knee lenght tapered elastic waist skirt.  This is the simplest of all of the patterns and is only one pattern piece!

Though when talking about Pencil skirts you really cant go past By Hand London Charlotte skirt.

 

But surely I have a pencil skirt pattern in my collection of patterns.  Apparently I do not.  What I do have is two years of Burdastyle subscriptions which remain untouched.  After a quick search on the burdastyle website I found three suitable patterns that are in my magazine library.

Note:  Did you know that The Brisbane city council library has burdastyle magazines.  For a small fee you can place a hold and get it delivered to your local library for pick up.   Brilliant!

So without purchasing another pattern, here are my options.  My fabric is a simple black woven suiting, with no stretch, that doesn’t need to be lined.

Issue 7/2012 #120

This is a classic pencil skirt with stylish curved front darts. This skirt has a straight silhouette and features a back vent.

Issue 3/2013 #117

For everyday wear, this over-the-knee-length pencil skirt is perfect. It has a classic walking slit with under lap at the back.

Issue 04/2012 #118

This true high waisted pencil skirt is gorgeous and flattering for the figure, with princess seams to get the perfect fit! You can never go wrong with a princess seam pencil skirt, it is great for most occasions.

As I said I have these in my magazines, but they are also available for download for $5.99.   These were not the only pencil skirts that Burdastyle have.  A simple Pencil Skirt pattern search came up with 32 options!  Some are very “same same” but there were a few with nice design lines.

Which skirt would you make?  I think that I am leaning towards the first one with the hip pleats.  Though if I do find some black scuba knit then I might just have to splurge on Mabel.

