Tags

, ,

A few months ago Style Arc released a great collection of blouses.  One of them was the Maggie shirt.

I liked the design lines.  It has a fly front neck line with a front pleat.  The hem is curved and would look great with a pair of jeans or leggings.

Looking at the illustration below it would be a great shirt to have a contrast yoke and collar.

I made this from a cheap plaid polyester that I picked up from Bargain Box Fabrics (Burleigh) earlier this year.

For me this was a pretty quick and lazy make. 

Lazy to the point of pinking the seams rather than finishing with the overlocker.  Also if you look closer you can see the buttons are sewn right on the front.  I didn’t want to fuss with making buttonholes in this fabric, when realistically, they aren’t going to be used.

However I did take time laying out the pattern pieces to ensure the print matched across the two front pieces and that the back was symmetrical.

The pattern calls to make a double yoke, but next I probably wouldn’t bother. 

It is a very simple shirt to make that is very wearable.  

I would love to make this again in a sheer cotton as a beach cover up.

 

