Tags

, , ,

If you have been reading my blog for the last couple of months you would be aware that I love a good sewing challenge.  The monthly stitch is my favourite.  Each month they offer a theme or a challenge.  Seeing others interpret the challenge is very inspiring. Having a sewing focus with a deadline, for me,  is very motivational.

The Monthly Stitch’s theme for June is Indie Pattern month.  Unlike previous months this month also has 4 weekly competitions asccociated with it.  

I have decided to get involved and I am sponsoring the week 4 competition – Indie Fan girl.  The purpose of this challenge is to make 2 or more garments to create an outfit from a single designer.

I am all about Independent patterns.  I have curated a fantastic list of Independent Designers.  At the moment there are over 130 designers with more added all of the time.

To enter the draw, you need to write a post about your outfit and publish it on The Monthly Stitch blog during the last week of June.  Full details are on The monthly Stitch.

he prize that I am throwing in the ring is a $50 gift voucher from Stitch56.  They are a great online Aussie retailer that stock a wide selection in independent designer patterns.

At the moment I have a little crush on Sewaholic.  Tasia has lots of great wardrobe basics that go extremely well together.

For the challenge I will be making a Sewaholic belcarra/gabriola combination.

Here are two other outfit options from Sewaholic.

Combining the Renfrew top, Thurlow Trousers and the Robson Coat would make a fantastic winter outfit.

For something a little less casual, team the Cordova jacket with the Pednrell Blouse and Hollyburn Skirt.

I am all about Independent and at the moment I only make from indie patterns.  I have curated a fantastic list of Independent Designers.  There are over 130 designers and the list continues to grow  The list is actually a simple searchable database and there is something there for everyone!  

Not sure where to begin.  I am more than happy to point you in a “designer” direction.  Leave your idea in the comments and I will get back to you.

