Tags

, , , , ,

Teach Me Fashion got in touch with me recently and asked if I would like to try out their new wrap dress pattern.  After making Kielo a few times I was really interested to try another pattern that had a similar silhouette.

This pattern is a one size fits most.  The front and back pieces are almost identical apart from the depth of the necklines.

It took me a little while to figure out how to fit the pieces on 2.5m of fabric but I eventually got it.  The pattern has an accompanying Youtube video that goes through all of the construction of the dress. 

<div class="sqs-video-wrapper" data-html="” data-provider-name=”YouTube”>

This floral lovely is from spotlight and is just perfect for this dress. Thanks Sheridan!  The fabric needs to be a lightweight knit, have a nice drape and either be a solid or a busy pattern.  The way it is constructed leaves 3 seams at each side.  It would be an absolute nightmare to match stripes or a pattern.

The dress is designed to be worn multiple ways.  

As a wrap dress the sides tie across the front of the body and tie at the back.  

The ties are just the right length and sit neatly at the back .  Worn this way most of the dress fabric is concentrated at the centre front.

It can also be worn as more of a shift dress with it tied loosely at the front or the ties tucked into themselves creating “big pockets’.

I really like the big pocket look with a belt.

The only modification I made was to decrease the size of the arm hole by an extra 2″.  Unfortunately I did this after I had turned the hems on them.  I would recommend trying the dress on before that point to check the fit.

Being a one size fits most I am very surprised at how well it fits me.  Though If I was to make it again I would probably take it in about an inch at the centre fold. It is slightly wide on my shoulders.

I love this dress and it is a nice change from the solids that I normally wear. Though I think that until I get comfortable with the print, it will be worn with my favourite red cardigan or denim jacket.

It is a very versatile dress and so easy to wear.  I am heading to Singapore later in the year for work and it will be coming with me.  It will be a great travel dress.

Teach Me Fashion have kindly donated a copy of the wrap dress pattern for me to give away to one lucky Sew Independent reader.  Just simply leave a comment below and I will randomly draw a winner at the end of the month.  Good Luck!

Details

Pattern – Wrap Dress

Designer – Teach Me Fashion

Fabric – 2.5m lightweight poly knit from Spotlight

 

 

