Tags

, , , ,

This is the Pavlova Wrap top by Sewing Cake.  I have had this pattern for a while now and have always wanted to make a red one.

The fabric I used was a very delicate cotton jersey that I picked up from the fabric store – the day before the merino went on sale – damn it!

This pattern is very origami like and it took me right up until sewing the sleeves to figure out which bit was which.  

I made the size 35 and it is probably a little to large on me though it is very comfortable to wear.

The ties and hems are not finished.  I just couldn’t get a nice result with the overlocker or top stitching on some scrap fabric.

I think that it is a very modest wrap top.  It does wrap nice and high.  I am not a fan.  I prefer my V-neckline a lot lower.

The back of this pattern has a ‘flap’ that the ties overlap.  It is ok if you are wearing it with pants or a skirt but if you have it over a dress you have to make sure that it is tucked nicely underneath.

I like this wrap and it will get a lot of wear in the warmer months.  But I still want to make another shirt like this again.  Next time I might try Papercut Coppelia.  It is a little more appealing now that it is in PDF format too. 

 

Details

Pattern – Pavlova Wrap top

Designer – Cake Sewing Patterns

Fabric – 1.8m lightweight cotton jersey

