Tags

, ,

For the Tessuti Jaywalk competition I got a few meters of each fabric.  My plan was to make a skirt from the black/cream and a shirt from the other.

I picked up the Dixie DIY Summer concert Tee pattern from the first pattern parcel and have been itching to give it a go.  

Having seen some others make this I decided I want to do a few minor alterations.  I lengthened the front so it sits just on my jeans waist band.  I also tapered the sides to reduce the amount of fabric and to made the shape less “swing” linke.  This fabric is a little stiff.  If I had a drapery or lighter fabric I probably wouldn’t have bothered.

I also had to redo the neckline.  The first time I used the measurements for the binding from the pattern and it pulled the neckline too tight.  I carefully cut it off and remeasured the opening.

 The second time looks a lot better and I think I even prefer the slightly wider neckline.

I used the the making of this shirt as a little test run using the Jaywalk fabric.  It has a nice weight to it and it is nice an easy to sew.  I stabilised the shoulder seams with knit stay tape.  To help get perfect matching stripes and to stop the fabric shifting, I used a walking foot. 

I am really happy with the finished shirt.  It is nice and casual without being “daggy”.  I am glad that I made it longer.  It is a great shirt and the fabric has been washed and wears quite well so far.

Is anyone else entering the Jaywalk competition?

