Tags

, , ,

Every year Tessuti fabrics host a sewing competition based on a piece of fabric. You may have seen some designs from last year from their gridlocked competition.

This year the fabric is a simple striped jersey. The colours are black and cream or ecru and cream.  The garment must be made with one of both of these fabrics. 
Additional fabrics may be included but not make up more than 20% of the entire project.  The fabric is a very reasonably priced at $10/m with limited quantities available. 

You know I am a sucker for a challenge and will surely join in.  Even if you not going for the big prize, challenge yourself to create something from this fabric.  If you are interested in making a stripy sensation but not wanting to use the Tessuti fabric, Liesl from Oliver and s recently posted about buying knit fabrics and also provided some stockist information.

I have started a board on pinterest  “inspired by Stripes” to give you an idea of what can be achieved using a simple stripe.

Below I have listed some patterns that immediately come to mind that are perfect for stripes. Some of them I have made and wear often.

Skirts

I made Maxi skirt using the every day basics tutorial from iCandy handmade.  I wear this often with a white or navy shirt and my denim jacket.

Dresses
Tiramisu – this Pattern has stripe matching guidelines and is fantastic to wear.

Mission maxi – I have a few if these in my wardrobe.

Other dress patterns worth trying 

Tops

My goto shirt pattern is the Kirsten Kimono Tee and have two of these in stripes.

If you wanted to learn more about sewing with knits then there a couple of great class options on craftsy.

  • Sewing fashion knits with Linda Lee is a great overview.  It discusses the different types of knit fabrics, choosing the right fabric for the project, and how to handle and sew them.
  • Sewing with knits with Meg from Sew Liberated is also a hood course. It also goes over tips and techniques using knits.  But this course then goes on to step you through sewing 6 knit projects. I found this course a little slow but it is perfect pace for a beginner. The patterns look great too, though I have yet to make any.  

One tip that I think truly helps the success of sewing with knits is stabilising the seams. Steph (Cake sewing pattern) is a great blog post a while back on stabilizing knits as you sew. I am a big fan of knit stay tape myself. I use it across the shoulder seams, around the neckline and often on hems. 

Even if you are not interested in entering the Jaywalk competition this is the perfect opportunity to get some good quality stripe knit fabric at a reasonable price.

I have ordered a few meters in each colour.  I am going to make a shirt and a skirt.  I am not going for the prize but am just going to make myself some nice everyday pieces.
 

