As part of my “Me Made May”  pledge I wanted to try and wear something handmade with every outfit, every day. Now that the weather has changed and it is getting colder I am finding it quite difficult.  I would have nailed me made March!  

So instead I have tried to ensure that my main outfit for the day (espcecially the one I wear to work) is handmade.

This is how my first week of MMM14 looked.  Mostly shirts worn with Jeans.  Very … boring.

Day 1  – Kirsten Kimino Tee – by Maria Denmark

I imagine this shirt pattern will pop up a lot of over the next month.  It is my favourite shape and so easy to wear with jeans.

Day 2 – Mission Maxi – by Jamie Christina

This dress is an old favourite.  I used to wear it all of the time.  But just a few extra kg’s make it very snug.  It is most definitely a body con dress and so I wore a long black cardigan with it.

Day 3 – Blue Renfrew by Sewaholic with my Black Angel Jeans by Angela Wolf

I don’t wear this shirt often. I think it is a bit too daggy.  But it was fine on the netball and soccer sidelines on Saturday morning.

Day 4 – Syle Arc Slip on Susie.  

I have previously made this dress twice and modified it 9by chopping it off at the hips) to be a shirt.  I love the cap sleeves on this shirt and the way they are constructed.

This week I have dug out and worn my handmade PJs.  I thought that the top was renfrew made from stash.  But I don’t think it is because of the raglan sleeves.  The bottoms are based on Style Arc Kerry which are a wide leg pant with a drawstring waist.  I added a yoga waist band and cuffs to keep my ankles warm.  Though you can see they are very stretched.  These PJs are so very comfy and they are starting to fall apart at the seams.  

I have also worn a slip on maxi skirt  when around the house doing chores.  This was one of my first goes at sewing with knits.  I was inspired by Icandy handmade.  They constantly have lots of great tutorials about how to make great everyday wardrobe items.  I don’t think that this is the exact tutorial of theirs that I used but it does give you an idea of  how to construct a yoga waist band.

I am hoping that my choices for week 2 are a little more exciting.

