Tags

,

I have just made my pledge to participate in Me Made May 2014.

I have only just hit that point making clothes where I have enough of a handmade wardrobe to be able to participate in this challenge.

I am also more confident with my sewing abilities and the quality of the items that I produce.  Most of the guys I work with know that I sew now.  The initial taunting is over and I am more comfortable wearing my handmade stuff around them.

 ‘I, Donna of SewIndependent.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavour to wear at least one hand made item of clothing each day for the duration of May 2014’

Lets go into my challenge in a little more detail

I also pledge to try and include a handmade item with each outfit every day.  

Each day I may wear more than one outfit.  For example I might spend the morning at the shops before going to work – that’s 2 outfits.  Accessories like a knitted scarf or handmade bag count as a piece.  This will get me through my trips to the gym too, as i made my gym bag!

It doesn’t have to be made by me

I have some beautiful clothes and accessories made by some very talented friends and family that I want to include.

I will try and wear all of my handmade clothing over the month.

I will wear my favourites but try not to repeat outfits.  I will dig deeper into my wardrobe and wear items that were made long ago and forgotten.

Take stock of my handmade wardrobe

I don’t think I am up to taking an outfit photo each day.  But what I would like to do is take some photos of the items that I have made (on my mannequin) as I wear them though the week.  Then I will be able to create a weekly collage.

Look at what handmade items I wear and what I avoid

I will reconsider and assess my handmade items that don’t get worn and try and determine why.  If I will NEVER wear it again then it needs to removed from circulation.

 

 

