Tags

, ,

This  is my second project for ‘make an independent designer pattern’ a month. 

Josephine (Made by Rae) is a versatile top / blouse with a variety of combinations and options to suit.  It has Pintuck detail in the front and a number of sleeve and length options.

I grabbed some fabric from stash as soon as I could and cut out View C in a cotton / linen blend.  Then I froze.  The fabric was wrong for the pattern and was too stiff for the pintucks in the front.  The colour was wrong for me and I had nothing to wear it with.  It sat.  and sat.  I started to call it ‘poor Josephine’.  

Then I took a deep breath.  And went back to the stash.  

I picked a Japanese Lawn which I thought would was light enough for the pintucks.  I had a skirt to match which I wear to work and I loved the colour.  I cut it out again in View B, so that it was suitable for work.

Although the picture doesn’t really show the pintucks in amongst the small print, they are there and you can see them in real life. I now call it ‘pretty Josephine’.

The instructions were easily understood and supported with good diagrams.  I like the ‘2 speed’ instructions which give you a good overview of the process as well as giving you details where you need them.   

I made the size Medium straight from packet, with minor alterations. The sleeves were shortened to just above the elbow and I omitted the sleeve cuff.  I also shortened the length of the finished shirt by about 2 inches.  The rest fits fine.

If I made this again, I think I would prefer a tie across the back instead of the elastic.  This would allow the shirt to be brought in a bit more around the waist rather than just below the bust which always feels like a maternity top to me.  I would start a simple shoe string tie where the elastic starts.

Next time I will also pay more attention to the two outside pintucks.  For some reason, my bias tape didn’t cover the fold over at the top.  You can only see it if you really look but it feels a bit clumsy.  

I have worn it once so far and will wear again.

Details –

Pattern – Josephine (View B) PDF

Designer – Made by Rae

Fabric – Japanese Lawn from Stash

 

