Tags

, ,

One of my other ambitions for this year has been to organise my wardrobe better, identify the gaps and to build outfits that I can reach for without thought.  Surely, one of the benefits of sewing your own wardrobe has to be the flexibility to make any piece of fabric into any pattern and vice versa.

To start off the process I did a big clean out.  I threw out clothes that were unworn, unloved, didn’t fit or didn’t do me any favours.  At times it was hard to throw out things that I had made in the past but I was determined to ‘move on’.  I also realized that my sewing skills had developed and I was now capable of making more complex

I then did a real stock take.  I matched up shirts and skirts, tops and pants.  I resisted the temptation to try to make my wardrobe ‘mix and match’ although if there were different options that was a bonus.    Really though, as long as each piece had a soul mate partner and they work beautifully together as an outfit,  it can stay.

Then I found the gaps.  Individual pieces that had no clear partner were put in one place.  This green shirt was the first ‘cab off the rank’.  This is a RTW top that has been in my wardrobe for a couple of years. 

It is easy to wear, doesn’t require ironing and suits the type of clothes I wear to work.  So down to the pattern stash I went.  I firstly chose a gored skirt to match up with it.  Then to the fabric stash and a nice light knit to match.  I was pretty happy the combination I chose.   

The resultant outfit was not quite as I had hoped.  The bottom of the top didn’t allow you to see the yoke of the skirt and so I felt frumpy.  I went back to the drawing board.

I then decided on this very simple A line dress made from the same fabric.  I had liked the fabric combination as it allowed the green to shine and the pink to take a back seat.  The dress pattern is ‘Cruising Club Kim‘ from StyleArc.

Being without sleeves, it needs the shirt on top to make it appropriate for me to wear to work but it reduces the layers, which is good in Brisbanes’ hot climate.  I like that you can see a bit of the top of the dress under the shirt at the neck.  It is just the right length and without being figure hugging, is less like a sack than the gored skirt.

Win.

Of course, now I have a gored skirt that is lonely for a top.  Back to the drawing board. 

I am enjoying this process more than I expected.  It is giving more direction to my sewing and encouraging me to use up more of my stash. 

