Tags

, ,

Alrighty – lets get this going.  If you are new to my blog, Welcome.  This is something that I do at the end of each month.  I follow and read about 100 Independent designers twitter feeds, blog posts and facebook sites.  I try and keep track of any new patterns that are released.  Mostly I re-tweet the information immediately I become aware of it and if I am at home at the time I will also post about it on my facebook page.

This month there has been a real mixed bag of patterns released. 

Waffle patterns have released a lovely shawl collar jacket called Luffa.  Yuki made a great floral sample too.

Named must be working overtime this month.  They are still working hard re-releaseing their First Named collection in their new format and soon they will be releasing paper patterns.  They also returned the Alva collar to their shop which was briefly available for sale late last year.

By Hand London continue to create pattern that people want to make and love to wear.  Flora has been out for a few short weeks and it already has taken the sewing community by storm.   Flora is an extremely flattering dress with versions for a mock wrap front or a simple square neckline.  For the skirt it can be made as a voluminous pleated straight or dipped hem circle skirt.

By Hand London are also looking to expand their empire and are hoping to start on demand fabric printing.  They have a kickstarter project in action to help raise funds for this new venture.

The superb Anemone skirt was released by Deer and Doe.  Anemone is a fitted high waisted skirt with a few different design variations.

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick (SBCC) came out with Tonic 2 this month.  An updated version of their tonic pattern, this one is also free.  This version is great for layering with a crew neckline with slim sleeves.  A hard copy version is available for $13.

This easy to sew and comfortable to wear dress is called Winifred and is the latest release by Bluegingerdoll.

If you are after a fun and flirty skirt Hot Patterns have created Deco Vibe Swallowtail.

Even though I can’t read their blog, I am still taken by German company Schnittchen.  This month they released a pattern for a pair of pants and a coordinating shirt – Shirt and Pants Polly.  I know that I wouldn’t be able to read the instructions but they post photo instructions on their blog, and google translate is my friend.

Lisette’s pattern, Portfolio produced by Simplicity has become extremely popular. This pattern is now out of print and difficult to source second hand at a reasonable price.  A redesigned version of the tunic and dress pattern has been released under the Liesl and Co brand as a digital pattern – Cappuccino.

Victory is a stunning fully lined kimono sleeve bolero jacket by Sew Chic.

If you are after something a little more everyday then you can’t go past Kitschy Coo’s new trifecta top for women and teens.  With 3 necklines, 3 sleeve lengths and 2 shirt lengths you can make this to suit any body!

Now this pattern – I wasn’t sure if I wanted to make it or just look at the models.  Well done thread theory for making the Comox trunks for the men in our lives.

Ok, just one more picture.  I know that you wanted to see what they looked like from behind.  Of course, you know I meant the trunks!

And ladies didn’t get left out in this department either.  This month brand new to the Desginer Scene, Aussie company Measure Twice cut once released the Longbourne collection of 6 knickers patterns.

Teach me fashion has released their draped skirt pattern which I think is just superb.  I like the way this Australian company does things.  They create a pattern, sell it cheaply ($5AUD) and concurrently release a youtube video to show you how to make it.

Melissa from Fehr Trade has added another active wear pattern to her collection.  The duathlon shorts are  close fitting capris that can be made in 3 lengths.  They have an integrated pocket in the side seams and an optional padding piece for added comfort for cyclists.  I can also see the versatility of these made from Swimwear fabric in the shorter length for triathlons.

Seamingly Smitten released a mother and daughter maxi dress for spring called the Magazine Maxi.

Style Arc have also done their take on the maxi dress this month and they never disappoint.  The Jacinta dress has great design lines with the angled yoke and optional sleeves.  Imogen can be converted from a maxi skirt with a wide fold over waistband to a simple tube dress.

I haven’t been able to pin down a date but I am pretty sure that the Carmine knit jacket and shrug from Cake was also released this month.

Sew Me Something is another new designer from the UK and this month they started their collection with three simple loveable pieces. The Kate DressViola reversible skirt and the Beatrice Pinafore.

 

Ralph Pink has been working hard and given us a glimpse of his new pattern lines – the couture collection and beach cover ups.  These illustrations and model templates are available for download for free from his site.  

I have already mentioned on previous blog posts this month that Pattern Anthology came out with their just add jeans collection,

and the first Perfect Pattern Parcel was released this month with 5 great Independent patterns.  The next one is due for sale later this week.

I have also seen hints of a few winter coat patterns from Amy Butler, Merchant and Mills and possibly Grainline Studios.   Follow me on facebook and twitter to find out about them the minute that I do!

Also if you know of any other patterns that were released this month that I missed, please let me know and I will include them.

 

