Tags

, , ,

After Susies success with her Salme buttonless shirt dress, I just had to make one too.

The dress is very simple to make with only a few pattern pieces.  I cut a size 10 though the bust grading out to a 12 at the hips.   There is no waist seam and belt loops are added to the side seams.  

The only minor quibble I have about the pattern is that there are no included seam allowances. I am just lazy and I like that being worked out for me.  I used the seam allowance guide attachment on my scissors.

I was considering investing in some SA rulers but they have closed down.

The last step in finishing the dress is sewing the side seams.  I used this opportunity to taper it in from the armholes to the waist to create a more hour glass shape.

The dress is now more fitted, though still lose enough through the chest, waist and hips to be comfortable.   The belt still brings the waist in a little, and I like it as it makes the dress feel less sack like. 

The fabric I used is a medium weight suiting and though it doesn’t drape a lot it is perfect for this dress.  The simple charcoal colour also allows it to be dressed up or down, suitable for both work and play.  I picked it up from reverse garbage – extremely cheap.  It is a bit scratchy but I love it and it gets worn regularly.

