Tags

, , , , , ,

My around the house, everyday wardrobe is pretty simple.  I basically live in a T-shirt with a pair of shorts or jeans.  Unimpressed with my collection of faded simple black shirts and greying white ones I set out to make my self some wardrobe basics.

The Kimono tee by maria Denmark is a perfect shape and fit for me. It sits nicely across the neck and back with simple cap sleeves.  It tapers ever so slightly at the waist to flatter and then widens nicely at the hips.  Made in a stretch knit fabric this is my new go to shirt pattern.

I recently forced myself to get through another neglected craftsy class – Sewing with fashion knits by Linda Lee.  

Not surprisingly I learned a lot from this class and I put all to good use into the construction of the KimonoTee.  

I have made 5 of these shirts now from various scraps from my stash.  I used the size M pattern plus added 1cm seam allowance (which is not included).

The shoulder seams and neckline are stabilised with stay tape.  The sleeves and hems were done in a few of the different techniques that were shown in the class.  

The print one is a polyester/satin fabric with no stretch.  Even though it looks ok, it doesn’t fit as well as the ones made from knits.

I really like this pattern. It is a fabulous design and so easy to make.  It uses only about 1m of fabric.  It is a free pattern, but you have to sign up to Marias newsletter to get a copy.

I would recommend the Craftsy class too.  Great for those just starting to sew with knits and for those that already do, there were a lot of super tips and tricks.  

As part of the craftsy class I made Linda Lees eShrug pattern.  She goes through the construction of it in one of the lessons, but it is not included and needs to purchased separately.

For $6 I think it is well worth the additional cost.  It is a cleverly designed garment and drapes really nicely.  It is made of one patten piece, cut on the fold.  The only seams are at the top shoulder and around the set in sleeves.  I extended my (long) sleeve length by 1″ and tapered the sleeve width at the wrist to 4″ instead of 7″.  I have left all of the edges raw on this lightweight knit.

My handmade wardrobe is coming along nicely!

