Tags

, , ,

I have loved Grainline Studio’s Archer since I first saw Sew Well’s Golden plaid version.  I still want to make one similar in a soft yellow gingham.  It is always in the back of my mind every time I go to the fabric store.

There are numerous variations out there in blog land and I collected some favourites in the Archer pattern gallery

When we were in Japan last month I found this Kokka floral cotton.  It is a pretty print which is non directional.    This cotton has very little drape and is quite stiff.  Hopefully it will soften up with a few washes. I bought 3m, perfect for my first archer, and yes there will be more. 

With the fabric in my stash, an immediate downloadable pattern, and a comprehensive sew along available, Archer appreciation month was the tipping point to get me going. 

The archer pattern is extremely popular and for good reason. It looks great and is challenging but not difficult.  Instructions are clear and broken down into achievable steps. It is a classic button up shirt pattern with all the right elements: double yoke, breast pockets, collar stand, sleeve plackets and cuffs.  

During the thanksgiving sales, I bought the Craftsy course to make a classic tailored shirt. I thought I could pick up some tips for Archer, but ohh it is so painful to watch. It is so very slow and I fell asleep a few times watching it. I gave up.  

The clear instructions paired with the additional photos and details from the sew along on the blog was more than adequate to get me through. 

I shortened the sleeves to 3/4 length and chose the square cuff. In hindsight the shaped cuff would go better with the elbow length sleeve.  

I made a straight size 10.  I thought that it was a great fit, but looking at these photos it does appear to be a little roomy.

There isn’t a requirement to dress business like where I work. Jeans are a staple and a button up shirt finishes off my casual uniform.  I would love to have more of these in my wardrobe. Fabric choice is everything for this pattern and I will always be on the lookout for something lighter, a sheer or an interesting print.  

It was indecision rather than laziness to omit the button holes on the sleeve cuffs.  I will rarely wear them done up but still wanted to be able to see the buttons.  I can always add them later.

We took these photos just near our house.  It wasn’t long until I was photo bombed by Ruckus.  He is a Somali (with a haircut to try and help him combat the summer heat) and is very inquisitive.

