Tags

,

After some serious shorts research I decided on the Pattern Runway Sweet shorts  but without the scalloped hem.

The features that appealed to me

  1. a higher waist (with yoke) and a side invisible zip
  2. subtle single welt back pockets
  3. angled side front pockets 
  4. the scallop hem and
  5. I bought the pattern years ago

The scallop hem is a sweet feature of the pattern. The hemline is lower at the back and has a gentle curve to each center front to create a simple scallop.  Sweet, but possibly too cute for me and my legs.

I altered the pattern by creating a straight front and back hem and adding about 5cm to the length.

I made a quick muslin and went down to a size M. The fabric is a cotton linen blend that I bought in Kyoto and has the potential to grow with wear.

I did struggle with the instructions in the pattern quite a few times, finding it difficult to understand what they really meant.  

I was a little confused with some of the pattern pieces and the construction of the front pockets.  It took me a while to realise that the facing of the pockets (cut from main fabric) is top stitched on to the pocket lining. This then covers the “entrance” of the pocket.

The back pieces have single welt pockets which I have not made before.  I followed the single welt instructions that Pattern Runway have on their blog.  The additional photos and steps on the blog made them super easy and they really have a professional look.  

Adding the waistband, inserting the zip and the general construction of the shorts was simple.  As you can see they fit very well.  The only modification I made was to take in the seam a little at the centre back. I then adjusted the waistband pieces to accommodate.

I have to say that taping the pattern runway PDF together was a dream   Each page has a background grid on it.  It makes it so much easier to match the pieces.  I often find I get buckling when joining rows of pages together but I think the grid pattern really helps to avoid this issue.  There is also shading on the sides that need to be cut which is great if you have a simple paper trimmer so you can do multiple sheets at once.

Overall this was a great pattern for a pair of simple shorts with some details that make them a little bit more special.  I can see me making these again in a chambray or a white denim.  Maybe I might give the scalloped hem a chance next time.

