Tags

, , , , ,

When I first started sewing, my projects were toys, bags and simple quilts.   Most of these were made from quilters cotton in fabulous prints. 

Then when it came to sewing clothes I wanted to continue to use this fabric because I was comfortable with it. I knew where to buy it at the right price and I was experienced with how to cut and sew it.

My wardrobe is full of dresses, tops and skirts that I have made from quilters cotton.

I have made no less than 4 Colette Sorbettos from quilters cotton and at least 3 skirts using the A-line pattern from Sew What! Skirts.

 

My favourite item is my red Colette Crepe dress.  The fabric I used was from the Oliver & S city weekend range.  Unfortunately it no longer fits me (it’s too big!) but I can’t bear to get rid of it.

When sewing with quilt fabric you need to pick the right pattern.  Quilters cotton is slighty heavier and doesn’t have as much drape as normal dress making cotton.  

Some popular fabric designers have also released sewing patterns for women’s clothing that are created with their fabric in mind.  Designers include Amy Butler, Anna Maria Horner and Sis Boom

Pattern company Serendipity Studio has just released its new fall pattern line that includes a wrap dress, a denim style jacket and a maxi skirt.  All of these would be great in a bright or bold quilting cotton.   Perfect if you have a favourite fabric that you want to make something special to wear with it.

Have a look at my Pinterest board – using quilting cottons for more ideas and inspiration. 

